PDA

View Full Version : Brick Wall

Cheshirelass73
04-04-11, 14:23
Hi everyone I am a newbie to the forum so be gentle with me.

My grandfather Joseph Ball was born in Dawley Shropshire in 1865.

I found him on the 1881 census but can’t find a birth record.

Can anyone help or advise please

kiterunner
04-04-11, 14:25
Welcome to the site, Cheshirelass!

Did Joseph Ball marry? And if so, do you have a copy of his marriage certificate giving his father's name and occupation?

Cheshirelass73
04-04-11, 14:29
Hi Kiterunner

Joseph married Annie Jane Rogers in 1886.

I don't have his marriage cert but according to the 1881 census his father was Noah Ball he was a chartermaster.

Phoenix
04-04-11, 14:39
These are births in Shropshire per freebmd. The one highlighted looks like Noah's son, but there are two Joseph Balls showing birthplace of Dawley, per 1881 census, so Noah might not be the father.

Births Mar 1861 (>99%)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ball Joseph West Bromwich 6b 626

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Births Dec 1862 (>99%)

BALL Joseph Madeley 6a 58_

Births Jun 1863 (>99%)

BALL Joseph Charles Wolverhampton 6b 508

Births Mar 1865 (>99%)

BALL Joseph Albert Stourbridge 6C 224

Births Dec 1865 (>99%)

Ball Joseph Wellington, Sh. 6a 715

Births Jun 1866 (>99%)

Ball Joseph Newport S 6a 806
BALL Joseph T Oswestry 6a 694

Births Jun 1867 (>99%)

Ball Joseph Madeley 6a 633
Births Sep 1868 (>99%)

BALL Joseph Newport, Sh. 6a 793

Births Mar 1869 (>99%)

Ball Joseph Edwin B Newport, Sh. 6a 852

Births Sep 1869 (>99%)

Ball Joseph W. Bromwich 6b 733

Births Mar 1870 (>99%)

BALL Joseph Stourbridge 6c 166

kiterunner
04-04-11, 14:40
Can I just ask how you know that the Joseph you have found in 1881 is the right one?

kiterunner
04-04-11, 15:39
I see they got married in Warrington, so is this them on the 1901 census?

118 Catherine St., Warrington