PDA

View Full Version : Births of John Slomans in Somerset/Devon

tenterfieldjulie
21-09-10, 10:25
I'm hoping someone can help me find my 2x great and 3x great grandfather's births.
The first John Sloman died in 1864 at Halse. He was married at Milverton to Amy Pring in 1816. Amy 1793-1833 Milverton.
On the censuses John said he was born in Tiverton but we can only find his sister Mary and brother James baptism. John should have been born somewhere between 1789 and 1792.
Then we go to his parents - John married Deborah Webber in 1786 at Bampton. John was buried at Milverton in 1824 aged 59 years. Deborah buried Milverton 1831 69 years. Her age agrees with her baptismal date. John should have been born C1764.
Until the family came to Australia the families and their wives families lived in a fairly close area ranging from Nether Stowey, Enmore, Broomfield, Halse, Milverton, Taunton, Hillfarrance in Somerset and then Dulverton, Bampton and Tiverton in Devon.
I'm a novice on English research so any suggestions will be most appreciated -don't worry we drive on the same side of the road!! tenterfieldjulie

Merry
21-09-10, 11:43
Do you have some other source for establishing his parents? There's a John Sloman baptised at Halberton in 1787 which is only about three miles from Tiverton (and about one tenth the size!), but the parents are James and Mary. That's just the first place I looked, so I guess there will be others.

anne fraser
21-09-10, 15:10
There are quite a few Sloman parish records on free reg.

kiterunner
21-09-10, 16:45
Could you give us some details of the 1841, 1851 and 1861 census entries you have found, please, Julie? I can't see him!

Merry
21-09-10, 18:14
After a bit of faffing about I found him in 1861:

http://search.ancestry.co.uk/iexec/?htx=view&r=5538&dbid=8767&iid=SOMRG9_1617_1622-0775&fn=John&ln=Stoeman&st=r&ssrc=&pid=17969616

(indexed as Stoeman)

Off to Brownies now!

Uncle John
21-09-10, 18:29
Off to Brownies now!