PDA

View Full Version : Tracing Weigold family back to Germany

Angelfirenine
29-08-10, 12:26
Hi. I'm just starting out on what I know will be a long journey of family history but would be really grateful for any advice on how to trace my family's immigration route to the UK in the 1880/90s - thanks Merry for the suggestion of posting.

The last record I have with certainty is the 1901 cencus showing the residents of The Cottage, Old Fishbourne, Bosham as:
WEIGOLD, George b1865 Germany
WEIGOLD, Florence b1870 New Cross

Also shown are their 3 children - Sydney (my grandfather b 1897 Holloway), Victor (b 1898 Old Ket Rd) and Alice (b1900 Sussex). George is shown as a 'journeyman baker' (1901) and 'baker's assistant' (1911) and I am assuming that he came over to London in the 1880/90s where he met his wife. The 1911 census shows them still in Sussex having had a further 4 children, with Florence listed as 'Married for 15 years' - so marriage must have been c1896.

That's as far as I can go as a novice so would really appreciate any advice on how to trace George's roots in Germany, any immigration resources that might confirm date of entry to UK etc.

Many thanks.

kiterunner
29-08-10, 16:00
Ideally you would Sydney's birth certificate to confirm his mother's name, then get George and Florence's marriage certificate.

Likely birth registration for Sydney:
Sidney George Weigold Apr-Jun 1897 Islington 1b p 177

Their marriage certificate is actually on ancestry, in the LMA records, so assuming that Sydney's birth cert gives mother's name as Florence Weigold, formerly Rayson:

Nov 12th 1896 St Paul, Upper Holloway, Islington
George Weigold 32, bachelor, baker, residence 26 Blenheim Road, father Andrew Weigold, coach builder,
Florence Rayson, 26, spinster, residence 69 Landseer Road, father Phillip Rayson, solicitor,
Witnesses Peter Zoller and Sarah E Watts.

Andrew is probably a translation of the father's name, not sure what it would be in German.