PDA

View Full Version : Question re. reference checking at GRO

ElizabethHerts
01-03-10, 10:30
I have never used the reference checking option before, and I'm trying to find the death for my ancestor Sarah White.

I have three options to check, and I'm not quite sure how to proceed:

Sarah White Mar qr 1843 Farnham 4 97
Sarah White Sep qr 1843 Farnham 4 97
Sarah White Mar qr 1848 Farnham 4 145

How do I go about this? Do I have to order all three with reference checking, or is it best to order one, eliminate it or get the correct one, then carry on?

I feel particularly dim asking this, but I am on the GRO website and it doesn't help much!

Merry
01-03-10, 10:41
I have never used the ref checking facility as I'm not sure I would trust the person at the other end! (unfair perhaps, but the way I feel)

So, if it was me I would contact the local registrar. Unfortunately the registers for Farnham district may be spread across several offices, but I would just phone/email one of them and ask where I should write to for Farnham deaths in the 1840s. They may ask you if you know which sub-distict you want (because the different books may be in different offices), which, if the person hadn't moved since the 1841 census, will be on the census transcript on Ancestry.

Here's the Hampshire area office:

The Register Office, 30 Grosvenor Road, Aldershot, GU11 3EB.
Tel: 01252 322066. Fax: 01252 338004.
E-mail: [email protected]

and if the books are not there they may be in West Surrey, North Surrey or Alton.

This way may be a bit fussy, but you should only pay £7 in total.

I have to admit to giving up on local offices where the books were spread about as often no one would admit to where I should write except that it 'wasn't them' lol But if I had a case with three certs as you do, I would bite the bullet and try contacting the local office.

ElizabethHerts
01-03-10, 10:46
Merry, I have already contacted Guildford and Alton, and neither were particularly helpful.