PDA

View Full Version : Advice pre-1800 please

ElizabethHerts
25-01-10, 06:59
With all my lines except for two (one illegitimate, one untraceable!) I am back to before 1800.

So far I have been using parish records and wills to help with my research, with some success. I now have a couple of lines back to 1600. Wills are my favourite resource at present and my collection has increased considerably.

I am aware that there are parts of the Records' Office that I have never frequented. :) Please could I have some advice on other sources which I could now use to obtain more information on my ancestors, and how to go about it.

Joan of Archives
25-01-10, 08:13
I expect you have tried the Marriage licences & Poor Law records? In Bucks they have a Posse Comitatus which was useful for a few more male names. I expect you are more of an expert than me, I am still learning lol! :d

Generally I think wills are the best & sometimes it's worth looking at wills for other people with the same surname if it's not a common one that sometimes throws up a few clues & can link families together.

ElizabethHerts
25-01-10, 08:17
I expect you have tried the Marriage licences & Poor Law records? In Bucks they have a Posse Comitatus which was useful for a few more male names. I expect you are more of an expert than me, I am still learning lol! :d

Generally I think wills are the best & sometimes it's worth looking at wills for other people with the same surname if it's not a common one that sometimes throws up a few clues & can link families together.

I'm about to try the Marriage Licenses, Joan, and I am compiling a list of everyone who married by licence. One of OH's branches seem to have always married by licence for about 60 years at least!

The Posse Comitatus for Bucks was really useful for my Jeffcoats. I don't think other counties have the records so well preserved?

Mary from Italy
25-01-10, 11:20