PDA

View Full Version : Help reading a will

Kit
25-04-20, 08:58
Phillip Drake (https://www.ancestry.co.uk/interactive/5111/40611_310305-00252/132188?backurl=&ssrc=&backlabel=Return)

Ancestry says this will is for Phillipe Drewe, TNA says Phillip Drake (widow of Devon). It spans 2 pages but the first page is very faint and I can't make much out. It is from 1655 and I am not good at reading the writing from that time either.

At this point I'm really just interested in the names and their relationship, if stated. I think he/she has a son, Thomas,

Any help is appreciated.

Phoenix
25-04-20, 09:07
Amye Drake is the daughter and executrix, so it is definitely Drake. Phillip is a unisex name, so no problem with that.

ElizabethHerts
25-04-20, 09:10
Definitely Drake.

From second page :

Thomas, son - ring given to her by her brother Sir Thomas Denys, Knight, deceased
Sons - Acton? and Wiliam
daughter - Johane, wife of Robert Collyns
Grandchild and godson - William Drake

Rest and residue to daughter Amye Drake, Executrix

ElizabethHerts
25-04-20, 09:10
The Acton family was very important in Devon.

Phoenix
25-04-20, 09:16
Using other sources, because that first page is so very faint, she appears to be of Wiscombe in Devon.
Her brother was Sir Thomas Denys deceasd.

Phoenix
25-04-20, 09:26
It looks as if there is a transcript available if you googled for it. I'm not familiar with that part of the word, but Wiscombe appears to be in either Colyton or possibly Southleigh.

Phoenix
25-04-20, 09:40
Her husband names her in his will proved 1625. Note that she is "my nowe wyfe". This suggests that she may well be considerably younger than he was and not the mother of all the children.

ElizabethHerts
25-04-20, 09:41
It looks as if there is a transcript available if you googled for it. I'm not familiar with that part of the word, but Wiscombe appears to be in either Colyton or possibly Southleigh.

Home territory for me! I grew up at Honiton.

Kit
25-04-20, 09:55