PDA

View Full Version : Piecing together relationships from a 1625 will

ElizabethHerts
26-07-15, 11:54
In the will of Robert Hill of Kimpton, Hertfordshire (1638) is the following snippet:

"...by reason and virtue of the last will and testament of William
Mathewe and Edward Chambers late of Kimpton..."

Edward Chambers was the father of Robert Hill's wife, Mary. He died in 1632 and left a PCC will.

I hadn't encountered William Mathew before, but he also left a PCC will, the will I'm studying here. It appears he didn't marry or have issue, and I'm attempting to work out the family relationships.

Beneficiaries:
Thomas Mathew cosen house in Husban Crawley, Bedfordshire
Annis
Elizabeth
Joane
Ellin also cozens sisters of Thomas Mathew

Alice Nuttinge widow, aunt
John Nuttinge cosen
Joane Nuttinge cosen
Edward Chambers brother-in-law, overseer grandfather of Luce, Ann, Parnill Hill
Ellin Chambers cosen

Robert Hill sole executor
John Hill sone of Robert Hill godson
Thomas Hill son of Robert Hill Leviats/Leriats in Kimpton
Luce Hill goddaughter d of RH
Anne Hill daughter of Robert Hill
Parnill Hill daughter of Robert Hill

William Davie Westfield, Kimpton
Marie Davie wife of William Davie (I also know she was the eldest daughter of Robert Hill)

Elizabeth Sibley
Thomas Demmysdale
John Cason? brother’s servant

the poor people of Kimpton

TBC in next post

ElizabethHerts
26-07-15, 12:03
The PRs aren't being particularly helpful to me.

The name of Nutting(e) appears in St Paul's Walden, the next parish to Kimpton.
Two Alice Nuttinges are buried in 1629. Both old widows.

Re. Husborne Crawley in Bedfordshire - there are children being baptised to three different Mathew faimilies in the late 1500s. A Nicholas Mathew had, inter alia, an Elizabeth (1584) and Agnes (1581), a Thomas (1588). No Joane or Ellen, but there is a Jane.

However, there is this marriage:
Name: John Colopps
Spouse's Name: Agnes Mathewe
Event Date: 26 Oct 1612