PDA

View Full Version : William French/Freanch - a few gaps

Rick
25-01-15, 17:24
The completist in me wants to fill in a few gaps in my knowledge, but I'm struggling and could do with some help. I'm missing his mother's name, his place of birth and the maiden names of the two widows he married.

Here's the timeline of what I do know:

1711 His father, James Fransh son of Joseph baptised Clyst Honiton, Devon
1721 His aunt, Sarah French dau of Joseph batp Clyst Honiton
1746 approx. William French/Freanch born.
1753 Aunt Sarah marries Giles Theyer, a joiner, in Bishopsgate, London
1761 William Freanch, son of James, a farmer of "Crishoniton" apprentice to Morphew Yerraway, Citizen & Clothworker. Morphew is a timber merchant by trade.
1770 Burial of James French, Clyst Honiton - presumably his father, but no age given.
1772 William Freanch marries the widow Ann Kerby or Kirby in Islington
1772 Sobieski Clementina Freanch, dau of William & Ann baptised in London
1774 approx. birth of Ann Margaret Freanch, dau of William & Ann
1775 Probate of Giles Theyer. £20 in will to nephew William French to carry on his trade and business
1790 Death of Ann (Kerby) Freanch reported in The Gentleman;s Magazine
1794 William Freanch marries the widow Elizabeth Spencer in London
1806 Probate of William Freanch. Will mentions wife Elizsabeth and his two daughters
1823 Burial of Elizabeth (Spencer) Freanch in Ruislip, aged 69 (so yob approx. 1754)
1823 Probate of Elizabeth Freanch. Will names several daughters which help to identify that her first husband was William. Earliest baptism of a child I have found is William in 1781

There are a few candidates for Ann Kerby and Elizabeth Spencer, but nothing compelling. I've also seen the marriage of James French to Elizabeth Weeks in Devon and the baptism of a William in Dunchideock in 1748, but I'm not particularly drawn to them.

Any suggestions welcome.

kiterunner
25-01-15, 19:02
Witnesses from the two weddings: