PDA

View Full Version : How to identify my G Father?

Colkeeper
18-10-12, 19:16
How do I identify my Grandfather?

I have found out that his surname is not what I've always been led to believe. His name is George Norris - I don't know of any middle names and I don't know his birth or death details. He did not marry my grandmother and I've been told that he is some 12yrs her senior. He was the father of my mother and all of her subsequent siblings. My mothers birth certificate was the only one to bear his last name. I know what district of London they lived in, but no actual address. My grandmother was borne in 1886. I have used the National Archive search facility to know avail and have come to the conclusion that I have insufficient info. I'm new to genealogy research and need some advice and guidance. Can any help please!

kiterunner
18-10-12, 19:21
Welcome to the forum, Colin.

Can you post up all the information that you have, leaving out the names of any living people? For instance, what was your grandmother's name? Maybe we can come up with something to help.

JBee
18-10-12, 19:38
There's quite a number of George Norris's in London in the 1911 census. If he was about 12 years older then he'd have been born c1874.

Need to know your grandmother's name to work out which household if they were living together at that time.

kiterunner
18-10-12, 21:43
Doesn't your mother's birth certificate give an address where they were living? And the other children's birth certificates? Also, does your mother's birth certificate state George's occupation?

Colkeeper
21-10-12, 16:14