PDA

View Full Version : Really proud of myself for a novice

Anglosaxon
10-09-12, 05:09
Got my dad's family tree back to 1660 using ancestry and found a whole new family who have embraced me its great.

Now for the fun part, how do I start finding out more about these people ? :D

do you use a site on ancestry it just gives me hints etc.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Carrianne

Merry
10-09-12, 06:00
You are very lucky - I've been researching my tree for several decades, but don't have anyone born that early and only two tiny twigs with any entry that says 16-something!

When you say:

and found a whole new family who have embraced me its great.

...do you mean some of the research you have is what has been done by someone else? Nothing necessarily wrong with that, but you should check out anything you are given by a third party to confirm it is correct. Also make sure any information you have gleaned from the GRO is backed up by certificates and any information taken from transcribed sources is checked out for accuracy (you don't want to spend a lot of time and money investigating the wrong people!).

As you have got this far so quickly you may not have had time to take in what you already have, so it might be worth concentrating on one or two families and see what out can find about them. It's difficult to say what else you may find without knowing where they lived or what sort of lives they followed. Perhaps you could learn more about the history of the towns and vilages they lived in, or exactly what their work might have been like?

kiterunner
10-09-12, 08:13
If you give us an example of someone you want to find out more about - and how your tree goes back to them - we might be able to give some suggestions.

JBee
10-09-12, 10:35