PDA

View Full Version : How do I search for records of a person who may have been adopted

Zoemcdougall
03-08-12, 16:31
My cousin is trying to find out who the father of his mum's eldest sister was,

Evelyn Lucas was the Daughter of Edith Lucas nee Jones, Edith had 6 children, 5 of the children born to Edith & William Jack Lucas. Evelyn was born before Jack & Edith got married. My cousin believes that Jack adopted her.

Evelyn herself thought that Jack wasn't her father. She even wrote to my Grandafather (Brother to Edith) asking whether Jack was her father but don't know whether my Grandfather ever wrote back, he was very close to Edith & I am certain she would have told him. Evelyn couldn't ask mother as Edith spent most of her life in Fairmile hospital.

Zoe

Merry
03-08-12, 16:45
I'm no expert on adoption, but as far as I know an individuals adoption records cannot be accessed by anyone other than the adoptee. I assume Evelyn Lucas is no longer alive?

I'm also assuming there is no father's name on her original birth cert, as I guess Evelyn would have looked into that herself.

Olde Crone
03-08-12, 17:16
I agree with Merry, adoption records (even so-called Mother's Own adoptions) are private and the papers can only be accessed by the adoptee.

It does seem very unlikely that Jack was her natural father, as if he was, he didn't need to adopt her, they just needed to re-register her birth with his name on the cert.

If Evelyn was adopted (by anyone) then her birth certificate will bear the words "adopted" in the right hand column.

Finally, I think you will have an impossible job to discover who her natural father was, unless someone in the family knows.

OC

OC

Zoemcdougall
03-08-12, 17:17