PDA

View Full Version : fmp question

Phoenix
15-10-09, 16:19
Being offered various sub rates:

£60 - year of 1911
£120 - year of all censuses etc

Can I download ALL docs to my records, so I can view them once sub has expired? If so, I might be tempted by fmp rather than Ancestry.

Mandy in Wiltshire
15-10-09, 17:20
I've been using FMP regularly for a few years now and have downloaded everything I've looked at (eg passenger lists etc). I've usually used Ancestry for census images but I'm not going to bother renewing my Ancestry sub as I've just got the FMP + 1911 with a 20% loyalty discount.

Funny you should mention this, as I want to have a play around tonight; census images are saved in DejaVu format which is fine if you just want to open them and look at them, but DejaVu doesn't seem to be compatible with Family Tree Maker. When I add an image to an individual, it's just showing as a blank page so I want to make sure that I can fiddle about and save it in another format somehow.

I've done a few lookups this week and when I've emailed the saved images, the people have been able to open them and read them with no problems.

Phoenix
15-10-09, 17:28
Just been on the phone to a friend who is producing a beginners disk and he was wittering on about dejaVu - teach me not to pay attention!

Were you talking about saving them on your harddrive, as opposed to within fmp? I find it brilliant that I have access to all the associated 1911 census images, simply by logging in, but I rather thought that with Ancestry, once your sub had expired, you couldn't view images you'd previously looked at?

Mandy in Wiltshire
15-10-09, 17:31
Just been on the phone to a friend who is producing a beginners disk and he was wittering on about dejaVu - teach me not to pay attention!