PDA

View Full Version : Finding a Will

tenterfieldjulie
19-09-11, 10:45
When my ancestor Robert Ford was buried on 22 February 1838 at Perranuthnoe in Cornwall his address is given as Lancomshire. I did not think my Cornish family would have left wills, but I find 1866-1878 - Lancomshire is a farm being leased. I am now wondering if he may have left a will. I am a novice at finding wills and would appreciate advice at the best place to look. Thank you. Julie

Merry
19-09-11, 10:51
There's some info on where to find probate stuff for Cornwall on Genuki (towards the bottom of the page):

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/Cornwall/

I looked at the link for will abstracts, but there was no Robert Ford (though there were a few other Fords)

As you see, anything stored in Devon was destroyed by enemy action.

I was going to look at the death duty records on FMP but the site is down. :(

Merry
19-09-11, 10:52
Oh and there was no will proved through the PCC

Here's the search page for those:

http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/documentsonline/browse-refine.asp?CatID=6&searchType=browserefine&pagenumber=1&query=*&queryType=1

tenterfieldjulie
19-09-11, 11:25
Thanks Merry for looking. I remember hearing that some records were lost in bombing raids but didn't realise what. I tried TNA but didn't think it would be there as it wouldn't be large enough. I'll keep these references just in case I have family with enough to leave a will lol

Mary from Italy
19-09-11, 12:00
Do you mean he was the tenant or the landlord of the farm?

If he only leased it from somebody else, then probate wouldn't be necessary as far as I know (unless he had other assets), whereas if he was the owner, it would.

tenterfieldjulie
19-09-11, 12:06