PDA

View Full Version : Australian stuff

Asa
04-09-11, 07:47
I've got two brothers James and Andrew Swayn(e) (also Swaine, Swan etc) appearing in trees on Ancestry as having emigrated from Scotland to Victoria, Australia. They were born 1815 and 1827 in Kennoway Fife.

I've been looking through the free stuff available on Ancestry without any joy, although I'm not very experienced at this, and not having much luck. What I'm most interested in at this point is that these trees all have the mother's date of death as 1829 when I have her burial record from SP in 1845 - is this a copied guess or would it have come from a son's death cert or something?

Merry
04-09-11, 08:53
I know I've used the online Victoria BMD indexes to "prove" whether a particular death is the right one by entering information in various boxes and seeing if the entry still comes up in the results. Depending on the date of death the indexes hold data on the parents (inc mother's maiden surname) so if you have that info (and they do! lol) then you may be able to work out if you are looking at the correct death entry.

I can't help with your actual question :o:o:o :) sorry!

Asa
04-09-11, 08:58
Thanks Merry - the mother's name was quite unusual so that will at least tell me if they've got the right people :) Which they have

kiterunner
04-09-11, 10:34
What I'm most interested in at this point is that these trees all have the mother's date of death as 1829 when I have her burial record from SP in 1845 - is this a copied guess or would it have come from a son's death cert or something?

The son's death cert won't say when his mother died; I would think it's a copied guess. Some people seem to put the last date that they know for sure someone was alive in as their date of death.

Asa
04-09-11, 10:49
Great, thank you :)

marquette
04-09-11, 21:40