PDA

View Full Version : workhouse births ? Penistone,Yorkshire

garstonite
05-06-11, 07:06
Margery Kay babtised 1/10/1826 born in Penistone Workhouse,Yorks
mother Harriet Kay...father named as Samuel Hadfield a Mill owner on Margery Kay marriage certificate to James Williamson in 1851

Harriet Kay b 1810 in Penistone Workhouse - mother Ann Kay ..born 17th April 1810 - christened 5th Aug as Harriott

so todays quest is to try and find anything out about Ann Kay ?...was this her married name or single mother ??

I have NO experience on Workhouse births ...has anyone had to research workhouse births please ?...if so , could you advise me of my next step....cheers
allan:)

Olde Crone
05-06-11, 07:12
Allan

Workhouse births are just like any other birth, lol! If only the mother's name is given in the baptism record then it's fairly sure she was a single mother.

Now the wonderful thing about workhouse births to single mothrs back then is that the workhouse master would take out a bastardy order against the father. This was done very quickly after the birth, usually the day after baptism but certainly within the first month.

You used to be able to find these bastardy orders online on the old A2A site but I'm not sure where/if they are listed now, although I expect they are in the Lancashire archives - if they survive, that is.

The workhouse was often the only place a woman could get medical help, so Ann MAY have been married but it's unlikely at that date, the workhouses were very primitive and didn't really offer much help in the case of a difficult birth.

OC

garstonite
05-06-11, 07:16
Thanks OC...so in my situation,would you agree that I look for a birth of Ann Kay around 1790 in Penistone ?( as Harriet was born April 1810 )